Back to all publications

Waikato National Secondary Schools Mooting Competition

It was a privilege to sponsor the Secondary Schools Mooting Competition again, hosted by the University of Waikato - Te Piringa Faculty of Law. Over 40 schools from around the country participated in the preliminary rounds over May and June, culminating in a final between the two top teams which was held on Friday night.

The finalists this year were New Plymouth Boys' High School and Waikato Diocesan School for Girls. Each member of the winning team receives a $3000 scholarship towards tuition fees at Te Piringa – Faculty of Law, and all finalists have the opportunity to do two days’ work experience here at our McCaw Lewis offices.

The teams were both exceptional, receiving praise from His Honour Judge JP Geoghegan and David M. Wilson QC who jointly judged the final. New Plymouth Boys’ High School students James Macey and Kaya Selby came out as the the winning team, with James also picking up the Best Overall Speaker Award. McCaw Lewis Director Brendan Cullen was on-hand to help present the awards.

Read more here 

Back to all publications